Cheryl Stevens

Share This


Dr. Cheryl Stevens is Dean of Ogden College of Science and Engineering at Western Kentucky University (WKU) in Bowling Green, Kentucky (January 2012 - present). She earned a BS degree in Chemistry from the University of Tampa in 1978 and the PhD degree in Chemistry from the University of New Orleans in 1982 with an emphasis in Physical Chemistry and Crystallography. She then spent a post-doctoral year at the University of New Orleans working on a cancer research project in the area of chemical crystallography.

Through her role as Dean, she established a college level Student Success and Advising Center, established a Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) initiative on campus, created an Ogden College External Advisory Council, works closely with the Chamber of Commerce to support regional economic development, and oversees the design and construction of a much needed science building. She is particularly interested in issues related to diversity and inclusion. Furthermore, she is involved in development and fundraising including donor cultivation and stewardship. In addition to serving as Dean of Ogden College, Dr. Stevens serves as the President of the WKU Research Foundation (January 2015 - present). Through this role, she works with a Board of Directors to oversee the Research Foundation's financial activity and to promote scholarly activity, technology transfer, and economic development. She is Director of the Applied Research and Technology Program (ARTP) at WKU, a Kentucky Program of Distinction.

Before coming to WKU, Dr. Stevens served as a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry at Xavier University of Louisiana for 29.5 years and was awarded the Margaret W. Kelly Endowed Professorship in Chemistry in 2001. During that time, she also served as Director of National Institutes of Health funded Student Development programs, Faculty Research and Development programs, director of a core research lab on Drug Design, Chair of the Chemistry Department, and Associate Dean for Research for the College of Arts and Sciences. Throughout her time at Xavier, she led an active cancer research program involving the design and characterization of new compounds that could be used as potential inhibitors of cancer initiation and tumor growth. She has served as Principle Investigator on over $19 M of external federal and foundation grants and published over 70 articles in peer reviewed journals.

She is a long time member of the American Crystallographic Association (ACA) where she served as Vice President (2012), President (2013), and Past-President (2014). She served as President during the International Year of Crystallography which drove much of the activity of the ACA during that year. She was an elected member of the United States National Committee on Crystallography for two terms from 2002-2008 and served on the Education subcommittee.