Office of the Board

David J. Helfand


David J. Helfand, a faculty member at Columbia University for forty-three years, served half of that time as Chair of the Department of Astronomy. He is the author of nearly 200 scientific publications and has mentored 22 PhD students, but most of his pedagogical efforts have been aimed at teaching science to non-science majors. He instituted the first change in Columbia's Core Curriculum in 60 years by introducing science to all first-year students. In 2005, he became involved in the effort to create Canada's first independent, non-profit, secular university, Quest University Canada. He was a Visiting Tutor in the University's inaugural semester in the Fall of 2007 and served as President & Vice-Chancellor from 2008 to 2015. He also recently concluded a four-year term as President of the American Astronomical Society.

He is now a member of the Executive Committee of the Board of Science Counts, an organization formed to communicate to the public the importance and impact of publicly funded fundamental research. His recently book, “A Survival Guide to the Misinformation Age” provides the essential tools informed citizens must acquire to combat the tsunami of mis- and dis-information that threatens rational approaches to personal decision-making and the formation of good public policy.

Corporate Secretary

Judy R. Dubno, Ph.D., is a Professor and Director of Research in the Department of Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston. Her research has been supported by grants from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) since 1981. She previously served on an Advisory Council of the NIH, four National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine consensus committees, and as President of the Association for Research in Otolaryngology and the Acoustical Society of America, an AIP member society. She received the 2018 Honors of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, the 2018 South Carolina Governor’s Award for Excellence in Science, and the 2020 Gold Medal from the Acoustical Society of America.