Update on Effort to Increase FY 2005 NSF Budget

Share This

Publication date: 
11 May 2004

There is still time for representatives to sign a letter written by Rep. Vern Ehlers (R-MI) and Rep. Rush Holt (D-NJ) asking House appropriators to provide the "highest possible level" of funding for the National Science Foundation for FY 2005. As of today, 91 Members of the House have signed this letter. A similar letter last year had 150 signatures. The deadline for Members to sign the letter is this Friday, May 14.

The outlook on the NSF FY 2005 budget remains very uncertain. Key senators and representatives have been unable to agree on a broad framework around which the thirteen appropriations bills will be written. While the appropriations committees will be able to act on their bills after this Saturday, there is every indication that the budget process will be especially long and difficult this year.

As discussed in FYI #46, this letter is being sent to VA, HUD, and Independent Agencies Appropriations Subcommittee Chairman James Walsh (R-NY) and Ranking Minority Member Alan Mollohan (D-WV). This subcommittee has jurisdiction over the budget for the National Science Foundation. The leaders and members of this subcommittee are strong supporters of the NSF, but they are operating under very stringent fiscal constraints as they write a bill that funds many important federal programs.

The Administration requested an FY 2005 budget increase of $167 million or 3% for NSF. There is concern that the final appropriations bill could provide an increase of even less than this amount.

The key words in the Ehlers/Holt letter are those in the final paragraph: "We are mindful that you will be faced with very difficult choices this year. We respectfully request your support to fund NSF at the highest possible level--we cannot afford to sacrifice the research and education which current and future generations need to ensure their economic prosperity and domestic security." The full text of the letter can be read at http://www.aip.org/fyi/2004/046.html

Below is a list of the Members who have agreed to sign this letter, sorted by state. Readers who want information on how to contact their representatives may consult http://www.aip.org/gov/commcong.html

Grijalva, Raul (D)
Hayworth, J.D. (R)

Berman, Howard (D)
Capps, Lois (D)
Cardoza, Dennis (D)
Davis, Susan (D)
Eshoo, Anna (D)
Honda, Michael (D)
Lantos, Tom (D)
Lee, Barbara (D)
Lofgren, Zoe (D)
Matsui, Robert (D)
Millender-McDonald, Juanita (D)
Miller, George (D)
Schiff, Adam (D)
Tauscher, Ellen (D)

Udall, Mark (D)

DeLauro, Rosa (D)

Gingrey, Phil (R)
Lewis, John (D)

Biggert, Judy (R)
Costello, Jerry (D)
Johnson, Timothy (R)
Schakowsky, Janice (D)

Hill, Baron (D)

Leach, James (R)

Moore, Dennis (D)

Allen, Thomas (D)
Michaud, Michael (D)

Cardin, Benjamin (D)
Cummings, Elijah (D)
Van Hollen, Chris (D)

Capuano, Michael (D)
Markey, Edward (D)
McGovern, James (D)
Neal, Richard (D)

Conyers, John (D)
Dingell, John (D)
Ehlers, Vernon (R)
Kildee, Dale (D)
Levin, Sander (D)
McCotter, Thaddeus (R)
Rogers, Mike (R)
Smith, Nick (R)
Stupak, Bart (D)
Upton, Fred (R)

Oberstar, James (D)

Thompson, Bennie (D)

McCarthy, Karen (D)

New Jersey:
Holt, Rush (D)
Pallone, Frank (D)
Payne, Donald (D)

New York:
Bishop, Tim (D)
Boehlert, Sherwood (R)
Engel, Eliot (D)
Hinchey, Maurice (D)
Maloney, Carolyn (D)
McCarthy, Carolyn (D)
McHugh, John (R)
McNulty, Michael (D)
Meeks, Gregory (D)
Nadler, Jerrold (D)
Owens, Major (D)
Slaughter, Louise McIntosh (D)
Weiner, Anthony (D)

North Carolina:
Ballance, Frank (D)
Etheridge, Bob (D)
McIntyre, Mike (D)


Brown, Sherrod (D)
Jones, Stephanie Tubbs (D)

Hooley, Darlene (D)

Doyle, Mike (D)
Weldon, Curt (R)

Rhode Island:
Langevin, James (D)

Cooper, Jim (D)
Davis, Lincoln (D)
Gordon, Bart (D)

Burgess, Michael (R)
Frost, Martin (D)
Gonzalez, Charles (D)
Green, Gene (D)
Hall, Ralph (R)
Jackson-Lee, Sheila (D)
Johnson, Eddie Bernice (D)
Lampson, Nick (D)
Smith, Lamar (R)

Matheson, Jim (D)

Sanders, Bernard (I)

Moran, James (D)

Baird, Brian (D)
Inslee, Jay (D)
McDermott, Jim (D)
Smith, Adam (D)

Baldwin, Tammy (D)