Representatives Supporting “Robust and Sustained Funding” for DOE Office of Science

Share This

Publication date: 
20 May 2011

Last week, representatives were given the opportunity to sign a letter to Chairman Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ) and Ranking Member Peter Visclosky (D-IN) of the House Energy and Water Development Appropriations Subcommittee regarding FY 2012 funding for the DOE Office of Science.  This May 13 letter, authored by Representatives Judy Biggert (R-IL), Rush Holt (D-NJ), Randy Hultgren (R-IL), and Anna Eshoo (D-CA), stated (in part):

“As you begin work on the Fiscal Year 2012 Energy and Water Appropriations bill, we write to express our strong support for robust and sustained funding for the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science, and the critical research, unique scientific facilities, and expert personnel that it supports.

“We recognize the fragile state of the nation’s economy, and support efforts to reduce the deficit and create jobs.  But to do so, we must set priorities and make smart, strategic decisions about federal funding.  We believe that scientific research is the foundation for the innovative solutions that will enable us to overcome many of our greatest challenges – from economic stagnation and dependence on foreign energy to curing diseases and addressing threats to our national security.  That is why we believe funding for the DOE Office of Science must be a priority in fiscal year 2012.”

The following 60 representatives signed this letter:

Altmire, Jason (D-PA)
Baldwin, Tammy (D-WI)
Bartlett, Roscoe (R-MD)
Biggert, Judy (R-IL)
Bishop, Timothy (D-NY)
Blumenauer, Earl (D-OR)
Capps, Lois (D-CA)
Capuano, Michael (D-MA)
Carnahan, Russ (D-MO)
Carney, John (D-DE)
Christensen, Donna (D-VI)
Chu, Judy (D-CA)
Clarke, Hansen (D-MI)
Clay, William (D-MO)
Connolly, Gerry (D-VA)
Davis, Danny (D-IL)
Deutch, Ted (D-FL)
Dingell, John (D-MI)
Doggett, Lloyd (D-TX)
Dold, Robert (R-IL)
Duncan, John J. (R-TN)
Eshoo, Anna (D-CA)
Filner, Bob (D-CA)
Frank, Barney (D-MA)
Fudge, Marcia (D-OH)
Garamendi, John (D-CA)
Hastings, Alcee (D-FL)
Hastings, Doc (R-WA)
Holt, Rush (D-NJ)
Hultgren, Randy (R-IL)
Israel, Steven (D-NY)
Kind, Ron (D-WI)
Lee, Barbara (D-CA)
Levin, Sander (D-MI)
Lipinski, Dan (D-IL)
Lofgren, Zoe (D-CA)
Lynch, Stephen (D-MA)
Markey. Edward (D-MA)
McGovern, James (D-MA)
McNerney, Jerry (D-CA)
Miller, George (D-CA)
Moran, Jim (D-VA)
Nadler, Jerry (D-NY)
Napolitano, Grace (D-CA)
Polis, Jared (D-CO)
Price, David (D-NC)
Quigley, Mike (D-IL)
Reyes, Silvestre (D-TX)
Richardson, Laura (D-CA)
Schwartz, Allyson (D-PA)
Slaughter, Louise (D-NY)
Speier, Jackie (D-CA)
Stark, Pete (D-CA)
Thompson, Mike (D-CA)
Tonko, Paul (D-NY)
Tsongas, Niki (D-MA)
Van Hollen, Chris (D-MD)
Waxman, Henry (D-CA)
Wu, David (D-OR)
Yarmuth, John (D-KY)

The subcommittee is scheduled to markup its version of the FY 2012 Energy and Water Development Appropriations bill on June 2.  The full Appropriations Committee will consider the legislation on June 15.

Constituents who wish to acknowledge the action taken by their representative can do so through the U.S. House of Representatives website.

Explore FYI topics: