Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work


Share This



How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Credit line: 
Mary Lea Shane Archives of the Lick Observatory, University of California-Santa Cruz, courtesy AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

Joint AAS-ASP meeting, Berkeley, California. Seated in the first row of chairs, from left to right, Robert G. Aitken, Richard H. Tucker, Edward A. Fath, Elizabeth B. Campbell, Frank Schlesinger (first vice president of the AAS), William Wallace Campbell, George Ellery Hale, and Armin O. Leuschner. The bald-headed man on the right, seated on the ground, is Joel Stebbins, later at various times councilor, secretary, vice president and president of the AAS. Harlow Shapley is in the back row, sixth from left.' Description from  'The American Astronomical Society's First Century' by David DeVorkin.

Original format: 
1 photographic print (black and white; 8 x 10 inches)
Aitken, Robert Grant, 1864-1951
Hale, George Ellery, 1868-1938
Shapley, Harlow, 1885-1972
American Astronomical Society