Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Attention ESVA patrons:

The Emilio Segrè Visual Archives’ site is moving soon and adopting an open access approach to digital image sharing. Once we have transitioned to the new site in 2021, we will no longer charge for our high-resolution digital images or usage fees (note that we do not hold copyright to all the images in our collections and you will still need to obtain permission for those which we do not own).

If you are working on a long-term project, we advise you to wait until the migration is complete so that you may obtain our copies for free. If you cannot wait, email us at nbl [at] aip.org and we will do what we can to assist you. We will not be offering refunds for past purchases.

For more information, please visit our FAQ page on the Ex Libris Universum blog. 

Alvarez Luis F4

Share This


Alvarez Luis F4

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
60 Inch Cyclotron
Credit line: 
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, courtesy AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

"Photograph shows the 60 inch cyclotron a the University of California's Lawrence Radiation Laboratory, Berkeley, under construction. Left to right are key figures in the development and early use of the machine; Dr. Luis W. Alvarez, noted physicist now a group leader in the Laboratory; Dr. W. D. Coolidge, famous General Electric scientist who was visiting at the time; William Brobeck, engineer who was responsible for most of the design of the machine; Dr. Donald Cooksey, now associate director, emeritus; Dr. Edwin M. McMillin, now Director of the Laboratory; and the late Ernest O. Lawrence, cyclotron inventor, Nobel Laureate and founder of the Laboratory. Only the magnet yoke and the coils (housed in large cylindrical pieces in the center) have been completed. The accelerating chamber goes between the coil housing."

Photo date: 
Circa 1938
Original format: 
3 photographic prints (black and white; one 9.5 x 8 inches, one 9.5 x 7 inches, one 9 x 6.5 inches)
Brobeck, William Morrison, 1906-
Cooksey, Donald, 1892-1977
Coolidge, William David, 1873-1975
Lawrence, Ernest Orlando, 1901-1958
Alvarez, Luis W., 1911-1988
McMillan, Edwin M. (Edwin Mattison), 1907-