Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Bohr Niels E29

Share This


Bohr Niels E29

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
3rd Washington Conf. on Theoretical Physics
Credit line: 
AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives, George Gamow and Physics Today Collections

Third Washington Conference on Theoretical Physics, George Washington University. Front Row, left to right Fleming, James H. Bartlett, Hans A. Bethe, Niels Bohr, Felix Bloch; Second Row: Llewellyn H. Thomas, Isidor I. Rabi, George Gamow; Third Row: Eugene P. Wigner, Milton S. Plesset, Jorgen Kalckar, John A. Wheeler; Back Row: Merle A. Tuve, Norman P. Heydenburg, Myer, James Franck, Roberts (behind Franck), Wendell H. Furry, Edward Teller, Lawrence R. Hafstad (behind Teller), Horace R. Crane, Raymond J. Seeger, Gregory Breit, Charles L. Critchfield.

Photo date: 
February 18, 1937
Original format: 
3 photographic prints (black and white; (1) 9.5 x 7 inches, (2) 9.5 x 6.5 inches, plus cropped versions)
Bohr, Niels, 1885-1962
Tuve, Merle Antony, 1901-1982
Heydenburg, Norman Paulson, 1908-1998
Hafstad, Lawrence, 1904-
Crane, H. R. (Horace Richard), 1907-2007
Seeger, Raymond John, 1906-
Critchfield, Charles Louis, 1910-
Franck, James, 1882-1964
Furry, W. H. (Wendell Hinkle), 1907-1984
Teller, Edward, 1908-2003
Breit, Gregory, 1899-1981
Wigner, Eugene Paul, 1902-1995
Kalckar, Jorgen
Wheeler, John Archibald, 1911-2008
Rabi, I. I. (Isidor Isaac), 1898-1988
Gamow, George, 1904-1968
Bethe, Hans A. (Hans Albrecht), 1906-2005
Bloch, Felix, 1905-
Thomas, Llewellyn Hilleth, 1903-1992
Bartlett, James H. (James Holley), 1904-2000
Plesset, Milton S. (Milton Spinoza)