Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Attention ESVA Patrons:

The Emilio Segrè Visual Archives’ site is moving soon and adopting an open access approach to digital image sharing. Once we have transitioned to the new site in 2021, we will no longer charge for our high-resolution digital images or usage fees (note that we do not hold copyright to all the images in our collections and you will still need to obtain permission for those which we do not own).

If you are working on a long-term project, we advise you to wait until the migration is complete so that you may obtain our copies for free. If you cannot wait, email us at nbl [at] aip.org and we will do what we can to assist you. We will not be offering refunds for past purchases.

For more information, please visit our FAQ page on the Ex Libris Universum blog. 

Clark University E1

Share This


Clark University E1

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
Guests at the Twentieth Anniversary of Clark University in 1909
Credit line: 
AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

Guests at the Twentieth Anniversary of Clark University in 1909, and the Scientific Convention under the auspices of the Department of Physics.

Also appearing in photograph Robert Goddard, Ernest Rutherford, Joseph Coffin, Arthur Ewell, Carl Barus, Ernest Nichols, Edwin Hall, Norman Gilbert, Albert Michelson, Arthur Webster, Henry Taber, and Robert Wood.

Full identification key is available upon request.

Photo date: 
circa 1909
Original format: 
3 photographic prints (black and white; 10 x 8 inches and 8.5 x 6.5 inches)
Clark University
Goddard, Robert Hutchings, 1882-1945
Rutherford, Ernest, 1871-1937
Coffin, Joseph George
Ewell, Arthur Woolsey
Barus, Carl, 1856-1935
Nichols, Ernest Fox, 1869-1924
Hall, Edwin Herbert, 1855-1938
Gilbert, Norman Everett
Michelson, Albert A. (Albert Abraham), 1852-1931
Webster, Arthur Gordon, 1863-1923
Wood, Robert Williams, 1868-1955
Wills, A. P.
Van Vleck, Edward Burr
Volterra, Vito, 1860-1940
Moore, Eliakim Hastings, 1862-1932