Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Attention ESVA patrons:

The Emilio Segrè Visual Archives’ site is moving soon and adopting an open access approach to digital image sharing. Once we have transitioned to the new site in 2021, we will no longer charge for our high-resolution digital images or usage fees (note that we do not hold copyright to all the images in our collections and you will still need to obtain permission for those which we do not own).

If you are working on a long-term project, we advise you to wait until the migration is complete so that you may obtain our copies for free. If you cannot wait, email us at nbl [at] aip.org and we will do what we can to assist you. We will not be offering refunds for past purchases.

For more information, please visit our FAQ page on the Ex Libris Universum blog. 

Cowan John E1

Share This


Cowan John E1

Donald D. Clayton
Image title: 
Schloss Ringberg Workshop on Nuclear Astrophysics
Credit line: 
AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives, Clayton Collection

Attendee group at Schloss Ringberg Workshop on Nuclear Astrophysics, May 20-24, 1985. Front row, left to right: unidentified, John Cowan, Donald Clayton, Friedl Thielemann, Ewald Muller, Gordon Baym, unidentified, Wolfgang Hillebrandt, unidentified, Hanns-Peter Trautvetter, Klaus Rolfs, Karl-Ludwig Kratz, Hermann Beer. Back row, left to right: two unidentified, Icko Iben, unidentified, Bruce Fryxell, unidentified, Nikos Prantzos, two unidentified, Monica Tosi, two unidentified, Uli Ott, Francesca Matteucci, three unidentified, Fred Begemann, unidentified.

Photo date: 
May 20-24, 1985
Original format: 
1 photographic print (black and white; 7 x 5 inches)
Cowan, John James
Clayton, Donald D.
Thielemann, Friedrich-Karl
Muller, Ewald, 1952-
Baym, Gordon
Hillebrandt, W. (Wolfgang), 1944-
Trautvetter, Hanns-Peter‏
Rolfs, Claus E.
Kratz, Karl-Ludwig 1941-
Beer, Hermann
Iben, Icko, 1931-
Fryxell, Bruce A.
Prantzos, Nikos
Tosi, Monica
Matteucci, F.
Begemann, Fred