Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Crewe Albert C1

Share This


Crewe Albert C1

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
Townes presents Langmuir Prize to Slater
Credit line: 
Argonne National Laboratory, courtesy AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives Physics Today Collection

L-R are Albert V. Crewe, John Clarke Slater and C. H. Townes. Dr. C.H. Townes, President of the American Physical Society (APS) presents the 1967 Irving Langmuir Prize in Chemical Physics to Dr. John Clarke Slater. The occasion was the banquet Wednesday evening, March 29, 1967, in the Grand Ballroom of the Conrad Hilton Hotell, Chicago, at the Society's 'March meeting'. Seated at left is Dr. Albert V. Crewe, Director of Argonne National Laboratory, who was the banquet speaker.

Photo date: 
March 29, 1967
Original format: 
1 photographic print (black and white; 10 x 8 inches)
Crewe, Albert V.
Slater, John C. (John Clarke), 1900-1976
Townes, Charles H.