Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Attention ESVA Patrons:

The Emilio Segrè Visual Archives’ site is moving soon and adopting an open access approach to digital image sharing. Once we have transitioned to the new site in 2021, we will no longer charge for our high-resolution digital images or usage fees (note that we do not hold copyright to all the images in our collections and you will still need to obtain permission for those which we do not own).

If you are working on a long-term project, we advise you to wait until the migration is complete so that you may obtain our copies for free. If you cannot wait, email us at nbl [at] aip.org and we will do what we can to assist you. We will not be offering refunds for past purchases.

For more information, please visit our FAQ page on the Ex Libris Universum blog. 

Niels Bohr Institute E10

Share This


Niels Bohr Institute E10

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
Commemoration Meeting for Niels Bohr, Copenhagen in 1963
Credit line: 
Niels Bohr Institute, courtesy of AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

Commemoration Meeting for Niels Bohr, Copenhagen in 1963.

(first row l-r) A. Pais, Felix Bloch, Friedrich Hund, W. Houston, C. Moller, D. Dennison, I. Rabi, V. Weisskopf, A. Bohr, P. Dirac, O. Frisch, O. Klein, W. Heisenberg, P. Blackett, R. Courant, A. Rubinowicz.

(second row) E. Jordan, J. Holtsmark, T. Gustafson, B. Stromgren, S. Werner, G. Wick, B. Mottelson, L. Thomas, S. Goudsmit, C. Manneback, H. Wergeland, A. Mercier, L.Rosenfeld, G. Beck, Veje (student).

(third row) B. Holm, J. Boggild, Jorgensen, J. Koch, J. Kistemaker, L. Nordheim, P. Kristensen, R. Kronig, F. Hoyt, H. Nielsen, C. Weizacker, J. Wheeler, N. Lassen, Svartholm.

(fourth row) Nilsson, O. Nielsen, Lauritsen, H. Levi, K. Ariyama, B. Trumpy, S. Rozental, Jacobsen, C. Madsen, M. Plesset, B. Jessen, S. Deser, T. Huus.

(fifth row) R. Tangen, B. Madsen, Olesen, S. Hoffer-Jensen, A. Petersen, Elbek, M. Delbruck, H. Casimir, J. Nielsen, L. Hulthen, H. Hojgaard-Jensen, J. Lindhard, O. Kofoed-Hansen, M. Pihl, N. Roy-Poulsen.

Photo date: 
July 8-13, 1963
Original format: 
1 photographic print (black and white; 11.5 x 7 inches)
Niels Bohr institutet
Pais, Abraham, 1918-2000
Houston, W. V. (William Vermillion), 1900-
Moller, C. (Christian), 1904-1980
Dennison, David M. (David Mathias), 1900-1976
Rabi, I. I. (Isidor Isaac), 1898-1988
Weisskopf, Victor Frederick, 1908-2002
Bohr, Aage
Dirac, P. A. M. (Paul Adrien Maurice), 1902-1984
Frisch, Otto Robert, 1904-
Klein, Oskar
Heisenberg, Werner, 1901-1976
Blackett, P. M. S. (Patrick Maynard Stuart), Baron Blackett, 1897-1974
Courant, Richard, 1888-1972
Rubinowicz, Wojciech
Strömgren, Bengt, 1908-1987
Wick, G. C. (Gian Carlo)
Mottelson, Ben R.
Thomas, Llewellyn Hilleth, 1903-1992
Goudsmit, Samuel A. (Samuel Abraham), 1902-1978
Manneback, Charles Lambert
Rosenfeld, L. (Leon), 1904-1974
Beck, Guido, 1903-1988
Nordheim, Lothar, 1899-
Kronig, R. (Ralph), 1904-
Hoyt, Frank Clark, 1898-
Nielsen, H. H. (Harald Herborg), 1903-
Weizsacker, Carl Friedrich, Freiherr von, 1912-2007
Wheeler, John Archibald, 1911-2008
Lauritsen, Charles Christian, 1892-1968
Levi, Hilde
Rozental, S. (Stefan)
Jacobsen, Theodor S.
Plesset, Milton S. (Milton Spinoza)
Huus, Torben
Delbruck, Max
Casimir, H. B. G. (Hendrik Brugt Gerhard), 1909-2000
Nielsen, Jens Rud
Lindhard, Jens
Pihl, Mogens
Winther, Aage
Jost, Res, 1918-
Luttinger, Joaquin M.
Bloch, Felix, 1905-
Bohr, Niels, 1885-1962