Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Oppenheimer J Robert E4

Share This


Oppenheimer J Robert E4

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
Famous S-1 Committee which constitutes the scientific leadership of the atomic bomb project
Credit line: 
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, courtesy of AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

On September 13, 1942, the famous S-1 Committee which at that time constituted the scientific leadership of the atomic bomb project, met at the Bohemian Grove in California as guests of one of the Committee's members, Ernest O. Lawrence, Director of the Lawrence Radiation Laboratory. It was at this time that the Committee made the decision to proceed with a production plant for the electromagnetic separation of uranium-235 which has been under development under Lawrence's direction in his Berkeley laboratory.

Left to right: Major Thomas Crenshaw, J. Robert Oppenheimer, Harold C. Urey, Ernest O. Lawrence, James B. Conant, Lyman J. Briggs, E.V. Murphree, Arthur H. Compton, Thornton, and Nichols were consultants, while the remainder were members of the Committee.

Photo date: 
September 13, 1942
Original format: 
3 photographic prints (black and white; 10 x 8 inches)
Briggs, Lyman J. (Lyman James), 1874-1963
Compton, Arthur Holly, 1892-1962
Conant, James Bryant, 1893-1978
Lawrence, Ernest Orlando, 1901-1958
Oppenheimer, J. Robert, 1904-1967
Urey, Harold Clayton, 1893-1981
Thornton, R. L. (Robert Lyster), 1908-
Murphree, Eger Vaughan
Nichols, Kenneth D. (Kenneth David), 1907-