Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Presidents Science Advisory Committee E1

Share This


Presidents Science Advisory Committee E1

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
President Eisenhower's Science Advisory committee, 1960
Credit line: 
National Park Service Photo, Dwight D. Eisenhower Library, from the White House photo album, Abilene, Kansas, courtesy AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives, Physics Today Collection

Standing from L-R are: George W. Beadle; Donald Hornig; Jerome Wiesner; Walter Zinn; Harvey Brooks; Glenn Seaborg; Alvin Weinberg (in front of Seaborg); David Beckler; Emanuel Piore; John Tukey; Wolfgang Panofsky; John Bardeen; Detlev Bronk; Robert Loeb. Seated L-R: James Fisk; George Kistiakowsky; Dwight Eisenhower; James Killian Jr.; Isidor Rabi attending the President's Science Advisory Committee on December 19, 1960.

Photo date: 
December 19, 1960
Weinberg, Alvin Martin, 1915-2006
Hornig, Donald F., 1920-2013
Wiesner, Jerome B. (Jerome Bert), 1915-1994
Zinn, Walter H. (Walter Henry), 1906-2000
Brooks, Harvey
Seaborg, Glenn T. (Glenn Theodore), 1912-1999
Beckler, David Z., 1918-
Piore, Emanuel Ruben, 1908-2000
Tukey, John W. (John Wilder), 1915-2000
Panofsky, Wolfgang K. H. (Wolfgang Kurt Hermann), 1919-2007
Bardeen, John
Bronk, Detlev W. (Detlev Wulf), 1897-1975
Fisk, James B. (James Brown), 1910-1981
Kistiakowsky, George B. (George Bogdan), 1900-1982
Killian, James Rhyne, 1904-1988
Rabi, I. I. (Isidor Isaac), 1898-1988