Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Solvay Conference E14

Share This


Solvay Conference E14

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
Tenth Solvay Conference on Physics
Credit line: 
Photograph by G. Coopmans, Institut International de Physique Solvay, courtesy AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives, Leon Brillouin Collection

Tenth Solvay Conference, September 13-18, 1954, in Brussles, Belgium. The topic of the meeting was "electrons in metals." Seated left to right: K. A. Mendelssohn, H. Frohlich, D. Pines, C. Moller, W. Pauli, Sir W. L. Bragg, N. F. Mott, L. Neel, W. Meissner, D. K. C. MacDonald, C. [G]. Shull, J. Friedel. Standing, left to right: C. J. Gorter, C. Kittel, B. Matthias, I. Prigogine (in front), L. Onsager, A. [B]. Pippard (in front), J. Smit, F. Fumi (in front), H. Jones, J. H. vanVleck (in front), P. O. Lowdin, A. Seeger, P. Kipfer, O. Goche (in front), [G]. Balasse, J. Geheniau (in front).

Photo date: 
September 13-18, 1954
Original format: 
1 photographic print (black and white; 15.5 x 11.5 inches)
Institut international de physique Solvay
Mendelssohn, K. (Kurt), 1906-1980
Frohlich, H. (Herbert), 1905-
Pines, David, 1924-
Moller, C. (Christian), 1904-1980
Pauli, Wolfgang, 1900-1958
Bragg, William Lawrence, Sir, 1890-1971
Mott, N. F. (Nevill Francis), Sir, 1905-
Neel, Louis, 1904-
Meissner, Walther, 1882-1974
MacDonald, D. K. C. (David Keith Chalmers), 1920-
Shull, Clifford Glenwood, 1915-
Friedel, J. (Jacques)
Gorter, C. J. (Cornelis Jacobus), 1907-
Kittel, Charles
Matthias, Bernd T., 1918-1980
Prigogine, I. (Ilya)
Onsager, Lars, 1903-1976
Pippard, A. B.
Smit, J. (Jan), 1921-
Fumi, F.
Van Vleck, J. H. (John Hasbrouck), 1899-1980
Lowdin, Per-Olov, 1916-2000
Seeger, A.
Balasse, G.
Solvay Conference on Physics