Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Solvay Conference E15

Share This


Solvay Conference E15

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
Eleventh Solvay Conference on Physics
Credit line: 
Photograph by G. Coopmans, Institut International de Physique Solvay, courtesy AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives, Leon Brillouin

Group photo taken at the Eleventh Solvay Conference on Physics, June 9-14, 1958, Brullels, Belgium. The theme was "The structure and evolution of the universe." Seated left to right: W. H. McCrea, J. [H]. Oort, G. Lemaitre, C. j. Gorter, W. Pauli, Sir W. L. Bragg, J. R. Oppenheimer, C. Moller, H. Shapley, O. Heckmann. Standing, left to right: O. [B]. Klein, W. W. Morgan, F. Hoyle (in back), B. V. Kukaskin, V. A. Ambarzumian (in front), H. C. van de Hulst (in back), M. Fierz, A. R. Sandage (in back), W. Baade, E. Schatzman (in front), J. A. Wheeler (in back), H. Bondi, T. Gold, H. Zanstra (in back), L. Rosenfeld, [P]. Ledoux (in back), A. C. B. Lovell, J. [Geheniau].

Photo date: 
June 9-14, 1958
Original format: 
1 photographic print (black and white; 15.5 x 11.5 inches)
Institut international de physique Solvay
McCrea, William Hunter
Oort, Jan Hendrik
Lemaître, Georges, 1894-1966
Gorter, C. J. (Cornelis Jacobus), 1907-
Pauli, Wolfgang, 1900-1958
Bragg, William Lawrence, Sir, 1890-1971
Oppenheimer, J. Robert, 1904-1967
Moller, C. (Christian), 1904-1980
Shapley, Harlow, 1885-1972
Heckmann, Otto, 1901-
Klein, Oskar
Morgan, W. W. (William Wilson), 1906-1994
Hoyle, Fred, 1915-2001
Ambart︠s︡umi︠a︡n, V. A. (Viktor Amazaspovich)
Hulst, H. C. van de (Hendrik Christoffel), 1918-
Fierz, Markus
Sandage, Allan
Baade, Walter, 1893-1960
Schatzman, Evry L.
Wheeler, John Archibald, 1911-2008
Bondi, Hermann
Gold, Thomas
Rosenfeld, L. (Leon), 1904-1974
Ledoux, Paul, 1914-
Lovell, Bernard, 1913-2012
Géhéniau, Jules
Solvay Conference on Physics