Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Washington Conference E3

Share This


Washington Conference E3

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Gerald Holton
Credit line: 
AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

Washington Conference on Theoretical Physics and Molecular Physics, sponsered by George Washington University and the Department of Terrestrial Magnetism of the Carnegie Institution. K.K. Darrow, Fleming, Lapham, Lothar Nordheim, D.M. Dennison, Gertrud Nordheim, G. Placzek, Taylor, Linus Pauling, E. Bright Wilson, Jr., J.C. Slater, Mrs. Teller, J.H. Bartlett, Eyring, J. Franck, H.C. Urey, G.H. Dieke, J.H. VanVleck, E.U. Condon, K.F. Herzfeld, R.S Mulliken, Maria Goeppert-Mayer, H.M. James, H. Bethe, Edward Teller, Gregory Breit, Joseph Mayer, E.C. Kemble, E. Wigner, R.H. Fowler, Altar, Innfman, J. Hirschfelder, I. Langmuir, Bonner, Brown, I.I. Rabi, Talbott, May, Wooley, C.A. Beck, Wood, R.J. Seeger, Gibson, Hibben, Hendricks, Maxwell, M.A. Tuve, N. Heydenburg, Hoge, Brickwedde, Liddel, Rossini and Jones.

Photo date: 
April 29, 1936
Washington Conference on Theoretical Physics
Darrow, Karl K. (Karl Kelchner), 1891-
Nordheim, Lothar, 1899-
Dennison, David M. (David Mathias), 1900-1976
Placzek, G. (George), 1905-1955
Pauling, Linus, 1901-1994
Slater, John C. (John Clarke), 1900-1976
Bartlett, James H. (James Holley), 1904-2000
Franck, James, 1882-1964
Urey, Harold Clayton, 1893-1981
Dieke, Gerhard Heinrich, 1901-1965
Van Vleck, J. H. (John Hasbrouck), 1899-1980
Condon, Edward Uhler, 1902-1974
Herzfeld, Karl F. (Karl Ferdinand), 1892-
Mulliken, Robert Sanderson
Mayer, Maria Goeppert, 1906-1972
James, Hubert Maxwell, 1908-
Bethe, Hans A. (Hans Albrecht), 1906-2005
Teller, Edward, 1908-2003
Breit, Gregory, 1899-1981
Mayer, Joseph Edward, 1904-
Kemble, Edwin C. (Edwin Crawford), 1889-
Wigner, Eugene Paul, 1902-1995
Hirschfelder, Joseph Oakland, 1911-
Langmuir, Irving, 1881-1957
Rabi, I. I. (Isidor Isaac), 1898-1988
Seeger, Raymond John, 1906-
Tuve, Merle Antony, 1901-1982
Heydenburg, Norman Paulson, 1908-1998
Brickwedde, F. G. (Ferdinand Graft), 1903-