Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Waymack William D1

Share This


Waymack William D1

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
The First Atomic Energy Commission (AEC)
Credit line: 
Photograph by Westcott, United States Atomic Energy Commission, courtesy of AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives, Physics Today Collection

The First Atomic Energy Commission (AEC); L-R: William W. Waymack, Lewis L. Strauss, David E. Lilienthal, Robert F. Bacher and Sumner T. Pike.

Original format: 
1 photographic print (black and white; 10 x 8 inches)
Waymack, W. W. (William Wesley), 1888-1960
Strauss, Lewis L.
Lilienthal, David Eli, 1899-1981
Bacher, Robert F. (Robert Fox), 1905-2004