Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

York Herbert D2

Share This


York Herbert D2

Image title: 
President's Science Advisory Council 1957
Credit line: 
Life Magazine, photograph by Paul Schutzer, courtesy AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives, Physics Today Collection

Herbert York at one of the first meetings of the President's Science Advisory Council during the Eisenhower era in December 1957, listens to York at blackboard. At tables (clockwise from far left) are Albert Hill, Detlev Bronk, Edwin Land, I.I. Rabi, Robert Bacher, James R. Killion, James Fisk, Jerome Wiesner, Jerrold Zacharias (at far right top table). Emanuel Piore, James Doolittle, Lloyd Berkner, Hans Bethe (on far right). Edward M. Purcell, Hugh Dryden, Alan Waterman and George B. Kisnokowkky. The four men in the back to the right of Zacharias are unidentified.

Photo date: 
December 1957
Original format: 
1 digital image/jpeg (grayscale; 5 MB)
York, Herbert F. (Herbert Frank)
Hill, A. G. (Albert Gordon), 1910-1996
Bronk, Detlev W. (Detlev Wulf), 1897-1975
Land, Edwin Herbert, 1909-1991
Rabi, I. I. (Isidor Isaac), 1898-1988
Bacher, Robert F. (Robert Fox), 1905-2004
Fisk, James B. (James Brown), 1910-1981
Wiesner, Jerome B. (Jerome Bert), 1915-1994
Zacharias, Jerrold Reinach, 1905-1986
Piore, Emanuel Ruben, 1908-2000
Berkner, Lloyd V. (Lloyd Viel), 1905-1967
Bethe, Hans A. (Hans Albrecht), 1906-2005
Purcell, Edward M.
Dryden, Hugh L. (Hugh Latimer), 1898-1965
Waterman, Alan Tower, 1892-1967
Kistiakowsky, George B. (George Bogdan), 1900-1982
Killian, James Rhyne, 1904-1988