News Release

AIP Congratulates This Year's Nobel Prize Winners

Share This


WASHINGTON D.C., October 3, 2017 -- The 2017 Nobel Prize in physics was awarded today to Rainer Weiss, Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves."                

"We at AIP are thrilled to congratulate Rainer Weiss, Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne today for winning this year’s Nobel Prize in physics for their contributions to LIGO and the observation of gravitational waves," said Catherine O’Riordan, AIP’s interim co-CEO. "Weiss, Barish and Thorne led us to the first detection of gravitational waves and laid the foundation for the new and exciting era we officially entered on September 14, 2015 -- the era of gravity wave astronomy."                  

To help journalists and the public understand the context of this work, AIP is compiling a physics Nobel Prize resources page featuring relevant scientific papers and articles, quotes from experts, photos, multimedia, and other resources. Relevant papers published by AIP publishing will be made freely available. The page will be updated throughout the day.


For More Information:
Julia Majors
media [at]